Association of Texas Appraisers

General Membership Annual Meeting August 4, 2017 Session

President, Curt Myrick called the meeting to order at 4:15 pm.

Roll call of Directors was then conducted by Secretary, Stacey Cartwright. The present Directors were: President Curt Myrick, Vice-President Wade Jordan, Secretary Stacey Cartwright, Luis De La Garza, Laurie Fontana, Ian Martinez, Ken Pruett, Past-President Dennis Crawford, Chairman of the Board Bobby Crisp, and Executive Director Teresa Walker. Treasurer Anna DeMoss was the only absent Director.

President, Curt Myrick then asked for the approval of the minutes from the August 2016 Annual meeting. Ian Martinez made a motion that the minutes be approved as read. The motion was seconded by Laurie Fontana and approved by all – motion passed.

FINANCIAL REPORTS

President Curt Myrick called upon Chairman of the Board Bobby Crisp for the financial report due to the absence of Treasurer Anna DeMoss. The Profit & Loss for the 2016/2017 fiscal year showed a total income of \$73,025.13. Total expenses were shown to be \$67,613.73 leaving a net income of \$5,411.40.

Chairman of the Board Bobby Crisp also presented a synopsis of the proposed budget for 2017/2018. Discussion was held on the proposed budget that it showed substantially more income and expense than the previous year due to it being a year for USPAP Update classes.

Luis De La Garza made a motion to approve the 2016/2017 Income and Expense statement along with the proposed budget for 2017/2018. The motion was seconded by Kim Mitchell and approved by all – motion passed.

OLD BUSINESS

Bobby Crisp presented the Board's discussion and decision not to lengthen the officer terms to two years and that is was decided to make a 2^{nd} year officer position optional.

MEMBERSHIP AND DESIGNATIONS REPORT

Curt Myrick reported that as of August 3rd, 2017 we had 353 members for a 8% increase from February 2017. We have 79 designations consisting of 1 ATA-L, 54 ATA-R, and 24 ATA-G.

NEW BUSINESS

Upcoming Meetings - The upcoming meetings for 2018 year was presented to the general membership. Rio Grande Valley - January 2018 dates TBD (location of South Padre, McAllen, or another based on availability) – Course offering: USPAP Update.

New Braunfels - February 16-17, 2018 – Course offerings: TREC Legal 1, Time Management and The Appraiser, USPAP Update

Houston/Galveston - May/June 2018 dates TBD - Course offering: USPAP Update.

Dallas/Fort Worth/Georgetown – Annual Meeting – August 2018 dated TDB – Course offerings: TREC Legal 2 (others TBD).

Other Industry Meetings - Curt Myrick presented that the Appraisal Summit & Expo in Las Vegas will be held November 1-3, 2017 and that the NAA Appraisers Conference will be in the Spring of 2018.

TAFAC

Bobby Crisp presented a report of the meeting held on June 2, 2017. He presented 3 highlights of the meeting.

- (1) There was new information from the ASB that the new electronic version of USPAP will have a hyperlinked table of contents and numerous other features to make it easier to use.
- (2) The AQB talked about reviewing their 7 and 15 hour USPAP classes.
- (3) The ASB Issues Committee brought up a situation about AO#3 and the wording including "firm" being a problem. They are going to present it to the ASB for a change in the wording.

TAF BOT

Bobby Crisp presented that they have tabled all discussions and decisions on changing the licensing qualifications to a later undetermined date.

COMMITTEE REPORT

Professional Standards Committee had nothing to report per Bobby Crisp

Program Committee had nothing to report per Bobby Crisp

Bylaws Committee had nothing to report per Bobby Crisp

Membership Committee discussed using an incentive program, putting out a survey as to what appraisers are looking for from an organization membership, and the need for a greater social media presence.

Nominating Committee presented that Board members Curt Myrick, Dennis Crawford, and AnnA DeMoss terms were at their end. It was also presented that Wade Jordan would be stepping down from the Board.

Ballots were handed out with 5 nominations. Curt Myrick asked if there were any volunteers from General Membership and 3 others were added to the ballot. Wade Jordan made a motion to close the ballot. Motion was seconded by Luis De La Garza and approved by all – motion passed.

Upon a counting of the ballots the 4 new Board members were announced to be Curt Myrick, Kathy Tredway, Pam Teel, and Kim Mitchell.

ADJOURNMENT

Robert Partin made a motion to adjourn the meeting and was seconded by Nester Leamon. With all in favor, motion passed at 5:05 p.m.

Recorded by:

Stacey Cartwright Secretary

Kartwight